Monday, March 17, 2008

Review - Body Count by P.D. Martin

Body Count by P.D. Martin
ISBN 0-7783-2411-9
No of Pages - 376
Rating 3.75 out of 5

Sophie Anderson is a FBI profiler with a twist. She gets nightmares that contain images of crimes that are about to be committed, like those she had in childhood before her brother was abducted. Now her best friend and colleague is missing and she must use her talents and abilities to save her friend before it is too late.

My reaction when I first picked up Martin's novel was oh no not another serial killer novel. But to my delight I found this novel to be well written and not overly gruesome. The plot was well executed but a bit formulaic. I did guess who the killer was but there were enough twists and turns that I found myself changing my mind and wondering. The theme of loneliness and isolation greatly enhanced the story and added to a richer development of the characters particularly Sophie. This is a very good debut novel by Martin and I look forward to reading more by this author.

Friday, March 14, 2008

Review- Stealing The Dragon by Tim Maleeny

Stealing The Dragon by Tim Maleeny
ISBN 978-0-7387-0997-0
No of Pages - 365
Rating - 4 out of 5

A container ship ship runs aground on Alcatraz. The cargo hold is filled with smuggled Chinese refugees. The crew of the ship have been murdered with deadly precision. Cape Weathers, a private detective, suspects that a professional assassin was involved and he is afraid that his missing partner Sally is somehow mixed up in it. While the authorities search for clues Cape hunts for her trying to find out about her past. When he begins to ask questions it's not long before finds a dead body in the trunk of his car and a price on his head.

I found this debut novel by Tim Maleeny to be both a riveting page turner and informative regarding the plight of Chinese refugees. The themes of justice and revenge permeate the novel. I particularly enjoyed the intertwine between the past and the present that added richness and character to the story. The plot completely held my attention and the characters were well developed. I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading the next installment of this series.

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Review - Twilight by Brendan DuBois

Twilight by Brendan DuBois
ISBN 978-0-312-36137-2
No of pages -263
Rating 5 out of 5

In this futuristic novel the United States of America has experienced another terrorist attack. In the aftermath people have fled to the countryside trying to escape the horrors of the cities. Militia bands are roving the countryside killing refugees and civil war has broken out in areas. The United Nations has sent in international peace keeping forces trying to restore an uneasy peace. The story centers around a young idealistic journalist who has been recruited by the UN to document evidence of the atrocious war crimes that have been happening . While traveling with a special UN group it becomes quickly apparent that this is a very dangerous mission and that there is someone who is concealing evidence and placing them in dangerous life threatening situations.

Once again Brendan DuBois has written an excellent thriller. The book gave me chills because it is so realistic and portrays a possible scenario after a terrorist attack. I found the book to be absolutely riveting. I could not put it down until I had finished it. I highly recommend it.

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Review -Nameless Night by G.M. Ford

Nameless Night by G.M.Ford
ISBN - 978-0-06-087442-1
No. of Pages - 338
Rating - 5 out of 5

Seven years ago Paul Hardy's broken body was found near death. Since then he has been living in a home for disabled adults. He has no memory of his past and has no idea who he is. After a terrible car accident he awakens with a new face, shadowy memories, and a name. As he begins the search for his identity it becomes quickly apparent that he is making people in high places very uncomfortable and he finds himself hunted as he begins to realize that he is at the centre of a government cover-up.

In this his first stand-alone novel G.M. Ford has written an excellent thriller that is guaranteed to keep you turning the pages until the very satisfying conclusion. I could not put the book down until I had finished it. The characters are very well developed, the plot intriguing, and the pace absolutely breathless. I highly recommend this book.

Monday, March 10, 2008

Review - Case Study by C.R. Cardin

Case Study
C.R. Cardin
ISBN 978-09797412-6-5
No. of Pages - 291
Rating 5 out of 5

Taylor Case is a professor of Forensic Science at Georgetown University. It's a career that gives her both opportunity and expertise for her other life. She hunts down child predators, a career that helps her cope with the disappearance of her brother in her childhood. When she learns that Kevin, a friend of her young nephew, has disappeared Taylor becomes impatient with the FBI's investigation and strikes out to find the boy herself. Using her expertise in forensics and computers Taylor begins the hunt knowing full well she must find Kevin soon or history will repeat itself.

Once in a while I come across a book that really hooks and keeps me engrossed to the end. Case Study is such a book. Cardin's main character is well developed and the plot has many twists and turns that kept me wondering how things would turn out. Even though the topic of child abduction is a difficult one it was sensitively handled. I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading more by this author.

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Review - Blasphemy by Douglas Preston

Title - Blasphemy
ISBN - 0-7653-1105-4
No. of pages - 414
Rating - 4.50 out of 5

The world's largest particle supercollider named Isabella is hidden deep in an Arizona mountain. It's creator physicist Gregory Hazelius and his band of 12 scientists hope to discover what happened prior to the Big Bang. But the operations are running behind schedule, so the presidential science adviser hires ex-CIA Wyman Ford to go to Red Mesa and find out what's causing the hold up. Meanwhile political opponents of the project are stirring up religious right organizations claiming that the purpose of the project is to prove that God doesn't exist. At the same time a Navajo medicine man, a televangelist, and a pastor of a failed mission move ahead with their plans to stop or destroy Isabella.

Once again Douglas Preston has written a real page turning novel. Preston puts his own philosophical spin on the age old struggle between science and religion. Preston's use of the latest theories in physics and ancient religious beliefs leave the reader pondering new images of the face of God.

I found myself reading this book non stop. I literally had to slow myself down in order not to miss a word of this excellent novel. I highly recommend this thought provoking book.

Review - Hangdog Hustle by Elizabeth Pincus

Title - Hangdog Hustle
ISBN- 1-883523-05-2
No. of pages 204
Rating - 4 out of 5

When private investigator Nell Fury agrees to investigate an unsolved murder of a young man who lived in San Francisco's Castro district she discovers that he could have been the victim of a random mugging, a personal quarrel, a racist assault, or gay-bashing. Her search for answers leads her to a dangerous and shady environmental activist group, a less than upstanding colleague, and prime army owned real estate that is on the city's northern tip.

In Hangdog Hustle Elizabeth Pincus blends a well crafted mystery story with serious social issues. She combines a subversive feminist twist, a wicked sense of humor, and sexy sleuthing in her tough talking heroine Nell. I enjoyed the book and found it very satisfying. My only regret is that I didn't find this series sooner!